Deputy Commissioner's Office

Deputy Commissioner's Office


Introduction: The Deputy Commissioner's office is at the heart of the City.  People come to the DC's office with their grievances and its redress. Overall law and order of the district is with the Deputy Commissioner. Apart from that various issues relating to the land, licenses,compensations are handled by the Deputy Commissioner's Office.

Administrative structure:- The Deputy Commissioner is the functional head of the District. There are various officials both at the district and at the taluk levels to assist him.   They include Assistant Commissioners, Tahsildars, Deputy tashildars,Seristhedar, Revenue Inspector, Village Accountants, etc.

Schemes : Housing (Ashraya, Ambedkar), Neralina Bhagya, SJSRY, Aradhana, Ashakirana, MPLAD,OAP, PHP, Widow Pension, Failed Well Compensation Scheme, CRW (Calamity Relief Work) are some of the schemes executed at DC's Office.

Achievements towards computerisation : The  DC  office  has  a  full-fledged computer centre. Most of the activities of the Hassan District Office has been computerised. The Tahsildar's office at the Taluka Centre were  also provided with computers and are mainly used  for  maintaining RTC's which are computerised completely in the district.

1) Computerisation of Land Records:  In Hassan District, all the  RTC's were computerised. There were around 8 lakh land owners in Hassan district and  computerised RTC's  have been distributed to  the  rightful  owners.

2) Computerisation of Voter's List: In Hassan  District, all the  voters  list have been computerised and link to the information is available in the Home Page as well as in this page of this website.

3) DC Office Automation : Various packages have been developed to automate the processes like DCB, Accounts, Salary Processing, Generalling, Election Pre-Poll and Post-Poll activities, RMIS, Record Room Activities, etc in Deputy Commissioner's Office.

Where should be contacted for what ?

People come to the district level office with variety of grievances and most of the time people don't know whom to contact and how often need to contact to get his/her work done. Here is a bit of useful information ..

The DC's office has many arms and each arm functions with coordination to one another. They include ...

  • Administrative Section :  

    Which deals with the matters relating to vacancies,appointments, pay & allowances, transfers & promotions, postings, retirements, CCA (Classification, Control & Appeals), Personal Deposit Accounts, Audit Reports, DC Diary and Business Statistics.

  • Revenue Section :

    This section deals with jamabandi, DCB (Demand Collection & Balance), Land Grants, Land Acquisition, Land Conversion, PTCL, Appeals, Land Reforms cases, Mines & Minerals and Regularisation of encroachments.

  • Election Section :

    This section deals with Election matters pertaining to Loksabha, Vidhansabha, Vidhanparishat, all local body elections such as Grama Panchayat, Taluk Panchayat, Zilla Panchayat, Municipalities, APMC, and other co-operative institutions.

  • Municipal Section :

    This section deals with all Municipal matters including service matters, progress made under various schemes like SJSRY (Swarna Jananthi Shahari Rozgar Yojana), IDSMT (Integrated Development of Small & Medium towns), Water supply schemes, Housing schemes and Slum Area Development.

  • Muzarai Section :

    This section deals with construction & renovation of Muzarai temples, appointment of Dharmadarshies and payments to Archaks' (Tasdik & annuity) salary, Aradhana Schemes.

  • Census Section :

    This section deals with census matters.

  • Judicial Section :

    This section deals with judicial matters such as Law & Order (Section 144 etc.,) issue of licenses for Arms and Ammunitions & Cinemas.

  • Miscellaneous Section :

    This section deals with NSAP, OAP, PHP, MPLAD and other Schemes. It also deals with meeting statistics, PWD works, issue of income and caste certificates, House Rent Control (HRC) and other miscellaneous matters of Revenue Department.